Air Force Officer Ranks

Air Force officer ranks are divided into three sections: company grade, field grade, and general officers. Company grade officers are those officers in grades O-1 to O-3, field grade officers are grades O-4 to O-6, and general officers are O-7 and above. 

Air Force Company Grade Officers

Second Lieutenant (2LT) (O1) insignia

Second Lieutenant (2nd Lt)(O1)

The rank of Second Lieutenant is shown through a single gold bar. Proper forms of address include “Second Lieutenant” or “Lieutenant.” Commissioned Airman may sometimes skip this rank.

First Lieutenant (1LT) (O2) insignia

First Lieutenant (1st Lt)(O2)

First Lieutenants have roughly the same responsibilities as a Second Lieutenant, but receive higher pay and are given more responsibility.

Captain (CPT) (O3) insignia

Captain (Capt)(O3)

Captains are typically assigned to and have authority over a company. In such a position, they are referred to as the company commander.

Air Force Field Grade Officers

Major (MAJ)(O4) insignia

Major (Maj)(O4)

A junior Field Officer rank, Majors in the Air Force operate as main staff officers on brigade-sized forces.

Lieutenant Colonel insignia

Lieutenant Colonel (Lt Col)(O5)

The 21st rank in the U.S. Air Force, a Lieutenant Colonel is responsible for commanding a medical or support group, a squadron, or directing ops in the operations group.

Colonel (COL) (O6) insignia

Colonel (Col)(O6)

Colonels in the Air Force serve in a number of different roles. Some command elements of a wing while others serve as heads of staff in different Air Force staff agencies.

Air Force General Officers

Brigadier General (BG) (O7) insignia

Brigadier General (Brig Gen)(O7)

Becoming a Brigadier General is an arduous process. It begins with a board of general officers creating a list of candidates, and ends with the President choosing those to be promoted from that pool. Brigadier General’s must retire after 30 years of service or after five years in their rank.

Major General (MG) (O8) insignia

Major General (Maj Gen)(O8)

A two-star rank, Major General is the highest rank an Airman can achieve during peacetime. The promotion process is mostly similar to the process in becoming a Brigadier General.

Lieutenant General (LTG) (O9) insignia

Lieutenant General (Lt Gen)(O9)

Lieutenant Generals are picked by the president from the existing pool of Air Force General Officers. Their rank is temporary and is removed when they end their term.

General (GEN) (O10) insignia

General (Gen)

The four-star position of General in the Air Force is used only during wartime. The maximum number of four-star Generals allowed in the Air Force at a given time is nine.

Want To Know More About The Air Force?

Be sure to get the latest news about the Air Force, as well as critical info about how to join the Air Force and all the benefits of service -- become a member for free and receive customized updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Show Full Article

Related Topics

Join the Military